Bachelor of Arts - Major

B.A. students, in consultation with the designated Department and/or Program advisor, must formally declare the particular field of study in which they wish to take their Major no later than following the completion of sixty (60) credit hours.  For full-time students, this normally means by the end of their second year.

It is possible to declare a Double Major (i.e., two majors, one in each of two different subject areas).  It is also possible to declare a Minor as part of the Bachelor of Arts – Major degree program.

The Faculty of Arts offers Major programs in the following fields of study:

  • Anthropology
  • Asian Studies
  • Ancient Studies
  • Atlantic Canada Studies
  • Criminology
  • Economics
  • English
  • Entrepreneurship
  • French
  • Geography
  • Global Development Studies
  • History
  • Intercultural Studies
  • Irish Studies
  • Law and Ethics
  • Linguistics
  • Mathematics
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Public Humanities & Heritage
  • Religion
  • Social Justice & Community Studies
  • Sociology
  • Spanish and Hispanic Culture

The regulations governing the Major program will be those in effect at the time of the declaration of the Major.

It is possible for students to change their Major at a later stage.